Battle in the Saddle

Oh Lands…

It’s been so long. Too long.

And I have so much to blog about, and so little time!

Just kidding, I actually have lots of time because it is 9:00 on a Tuesday evening, and I have already managed to ship a few cattle, name a few chickens, change the world, yada, yada, yada…so a little down time is going to be nice right now.

I don’t remember the last time I blogged.  All I remember is spending a week in Oklahoma City, bearing the heat, humidity, and panic attacks from eating too much frosting. And then spending another week doing nothing but painting, sanding, painting again, and uttering the occasional “Cotton-Pickin’!” or “Oh my lands!” when things took a turn for the worse…or better.  (Both phrases I picked up from my parents. What filthy mouths they have.)

So sit back…grab a bag of pistachios (my drug of choice this week) and enjoy the show…or story…or junk emails? Whatever my blog is to you…

Our story begins in Oklahoma City…where we chose to spend the 4th. Ok we didn’t choose, it just so happened that Daddy was going to be competing at Battle in the Saddle that day/weekend so we made this trip a regular party. (When you’re part of the Townsend family every trips a party.)

It also happened to be my dear friend Shandi’s 19th birthday. (You know, it makes me feel old when I can say that I have friends that are 19.  I remember being a 9-year-old on the bus being scared of the 19 year olds that listened to Britney Spears in the back of the bus.  Then again, I was a skeerdy cat until, um…yesterday.) We took advantage of this birthday and celebrated.  We celebrated with a plate of Italian food that would make The Godfather cry.

Behold.

The sad thing is…we finished it. Well, most of it. And what we didn’t eat we took back to the hotel with us and one girl (I won’t name names but she is blood related to me if that means anything to you…) finished off the last of the spaghetti a few nights later. You can never accuse us of wasting perfectly good food.

It was a good birthday…for all of us. (And I’m not just saying that because I got to indulge in a huge plate of food! Ok…yes I am.)

Now for the main reason we were in OKC…

Battle in the Saddle.

That name makes you cringe a little doesn’t it. It sounds so valiant. So avant guarde. So fierce. Ok, so maybe that’s just me…

Daddy and Crofoot (his trusty grey companion) competed in so many events that I lost count, and names of what they even were. But one event does stand out.

Daddy got asked to compete in the World’s Greatest Horseman Shootout representing the AQHA (America’s Quarter Horse Association.)  It was a qualifying event for the actual Worlds Greatest Horseman Show that takes place every year in San Angelo.  Daddy along with another man-made up “Team AQHA” and were competing against four other organizations for the top spot.  The #1 individual of course, won the honors of a paid entry fee to WGH.  While Daddy did not rain #1 that day, he did receive 2nd place individually and Team AQHA took the #1 spot overall.  Daddy was definitely blessed that day.  And when he see’s that I blogged about this he will probably be irritated with me because he’s a humble feller.  Good thing I’m use to being irritating.

PIcture #1: Daddy on the big screen.  Probably the only time anyone in our family will be on a big screen. That is, unless him and my Mama are caught on the kissing cam at a game or something.  And if that ever happens one of them will probably pass out.

Picture #2: The infamous “Q” (standing for aQha of course…) painted on Crofoot’s hip.

Picture #3: Daddy and Cro in a conformation class. This is funny because me and my siblings use to partake in this event every summer during 4-H Horse Shows. I think it’s safe to say we loathed them due to the heat, bugs, etc., so now Daddy-O gets to experience our…well, experience.

After we received word of Daddy’s winnings we decided right then and there that we had to celebrate. So we did what any party-hardy family would do…

We went and got cupcakes.

A dozen cupcakes to be exact (and one carmeled apple) from a store called “Pinkitzel.”

Where cowboys do their best to blend…but fail miserably.

OKC treated us pretty darn good.

Week 2 will be discussed throughly tomorrow.

 

Peace, Love, & For as much ragging as I do on Oklahoma I’m becoming quite partial to it. Forgive me Texas.

Sweet T

 

Leave a Reply

